Meek and Nagle claim C3 WRC’s first win!

Kris Meeke and Paul Nagle kept up their impressive form and (just about) held their nerve on the final day of Rally Mexico.

Despite running off the road a few corners before the end of the Power Stage, the Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT crew secured the C3 WRC’s maiden rally win.

The final day of the rally only featured two stages: La Calera (32.96km) and the Derramadero Power Stage (21.94km).

On the penultimate speed test, Kris Meeke claimed his fifth stage win of the weekend and extended his lead over Sebastien Ogier by another 6.3s, while Stephane Lefebvre set an excellent third fastest time.

The team looked on nervously as the crews contested the Power Stage, broadcast live on television. And there was certainly no shortage of drama! With the finishing line almost in sight, the Northern Irishman’s Citroen C3 WRC ran wide on a long right-hand corner. The car ran through the hedge at the side of the road and into a spectator car park!

Kris managed to keep his cool, get around the parked cars with dust flying everywhere, and back onto the road in a few seconds. He crossed the inishing line to secure victory by 13.8 seconds.

There were scenes of joy and celebration in the team as Kris and Paul were welcomed as champions on their return to the Leon service park.

This is Meeke’s and Nagle’s fourth win in the WRC, following Argentina in 2015, and Portugal and Finland in 2016. It is also Citroen’s 97th win in the World Rally Championship.


1. Meeke / Nagle (Citroën C3 WRC) 3:22:04.6
2. Ogier / Ingrassia (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) +13.8
3. Neuville / Gilsoul (Hyundai i20 WRC) +59.7
4. Tanak / Jarveoja (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) +2:18.3
5. Paddon / Kennard (Hyundai i20 WRC) +3:32.9
6. Latvala / Anttila (Toyota Yaris WRC) +4:40.3
7. Hänninen / Lindstrom (Toyota Yaris WRC) +5:06.2
8. Sordo / Marti (Hyundai i20 WRC) +5:22.7
15. Lefebvre / Moreau (Citroën C3 WRC) +51:35.9
1. Sébastien Ogier - 66 points
2. Jari-Matti Latvala - 58 points
3. Ott Tanak - 48 points
4. Dani Sordo - 30 points
5. Thierry Neuville - 28 points
6. KRIS MEEKE - 27 points
7. CRAIG BREEN - 20 points
8. Elfyn Evans - 20 points
9. Hayden Paddon - 17 points
10. STEPHANE LEFEBVRE - 10 points
11. Juho Hanninen - 9 points
12. Andreas Mikkelsen - 6 points
13. Jan Kopecky - 4 points
14. Pontus Tidemand - 3 points
15. Bryan Bouffier - 1 point
16. Teemu Suninen - 1 point

1. M-Sport WRT - 103 points
2. Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT - 67 points
3. Hyundai Motorsport - 65 points
4. Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT - 55 points

No comments:

Post a Comment

Review: BMW 3 Series Grand Turismo

With the trend towards providing coupe variants of mainstream saloon cars now firmly established across the main premium brands, BMW has for...